Begin Main Content Area

​​​​State-Level Single Audit Reports

Latest Publication


Latest Reports on Prior Single Audit Findings

Status of Prior Single Audit Findings

About the Single Audit

The Single Audit Act of 1984, as amended in 1996, is designed to standardize the requirements for auditing federal programs. Entities that expend $750,000 or more of federal funds during a fiscal year are subject to one audit of all their federal programs, as opposed to separate audits of each federal program; hence, the term “single audit.” In December 2013, the U.S. Office of Management and Budget published significant revisions to its guidance on administrative requirements, cost principles, and audit requirements for federal awards. Please refer to our Grant Uniform Guidance page for additional details.
The purpose of the Single Audit is to provide assurance to the federal government regarding the management and use of federal funds by state and local governments, Indian tribes, institutions of higher education, and nonprofit organizations. The commonwealth’s Single Audit is typically referred to as the “state-level Single Audit.”  Many local governments and other subrecipients of federal funds that pass through commonwealth agencies are subject to their own Single Audit requirements; information about subrecipient Single Audits is available on our grantee and subrecipient Single Audit Submissions page.
The Single Audit includes examination of an entity’s financial records, financial statements, federal award transactions and expenditures, operations management, internal controls, and federal assistance received during the period subject to audit.  It consists of two main components:

  • Compliance – Covers the study and understanding (referred to as the “planning stage”), as well as testing and evaluation of the entity

  • Financial – Similar to a financial audit, it includes an audit of the entity’s financial statements and accompanying notes​